TED TALK

In regards to @RusulAlrubail “For the Love of Teaching“, I feel that I as an individual have experienced moments in my life that made me feel exactly how she feels about teaching. Throughout grade school I have had teachers tell me that I wasn’t at the appropriate standards to achieve goals that I had set for myself, as well as teachers who have made it hard for me to even want to learn for that matter. During her TED Talk she says a quote “Imagine what it feels like not to be heard.” Out of everything that she spoke about this one specific thing really spoke to me because I have been in the position of not being heard and i’ve sat in a classroom asking for a teachers help only to not receive it. When I was in the first grade my teacher held me back, her reason being that she did not believe that I had reached speech proficiency even after I spent and entire school year begging for help. As a first grader I became very confused about learning but I also learned at an early age if I wanted to learn I had to teach myself. By the fifth grade I had completely changed my direction of learning and the funny thing is, I had the same exact teacher and she tried to fail me again only this time her reason being that I was a distraction and that I was to talkative in class. When my mother asked her why she had targeted me all these years all she could say is that she should have passed me the first time when she had the chance. Now at the age of 21 I think of these experiences and I appreciate them. If it had not been for teachers like her I would have never learned how important it is to actually be a teacher and not just teach a class. Students need more teachers who are willing to actually take the time out and help them learn instead of letting them believe that the are not good enough to succeed.

Leave a comment